Virgin Music Festival, Vancouver–The good, the bad and the ugly.

May 22, 2007

I won tickets to Vfest at work on Friday. Being the music cynic that I am, I really didn’t care to see too many of the bands so Justin and I opted to go later in the day. We saw four bands. And without further ado, I’ll give you a breakdown from worst to best.

AFI – how thou hath fallen from grace, or something. It doesn’t get much worse than this. Davey Havock, you confuse even the gender confused. I’m still totally perplexed on how you’ve managed to stay relevant after all these years. AFI’s last three albums have been direct carbon copies of the ones before it. Every song follows a specific formula, and the stage antics are as contrived as they come. You also played like shit. Kids, don’t give them any attention. You’re only making it worse.

The Reason – Crap. But better than AFI. Why are people still playing screamo?

MSTRKRFT – I checked you out for a second. Seeing Jessie Keeler grooving to French House just made me sad. I promptly left.

Ill Scarlett – I’ve seen you guys a thousand times, and it never fails to impress me. You put on a great show with great tunes, and you got me backstage where I helped myself to free beer. Three gold stars. Thank you.

The Killers – Hate your new album. It doesn’t have the anthem after anthem feel as Hot Fuss. That said, you played a lot of stuff from Hot Fuss. You’re a big arena rock band now and people have very high expectations of you. I believe you’ve fulfilled those expectations. Even though I’m not what you would call a Killers Fanboy For Life, your set evoked emotion, and you didn’t skip a beat. The sunset behind you probably helped, but there’s no real way to actually quantify that.

Redbull Girl – Thanks bitch. Because of your free Redbull, I’ve been up since three am with heart palpitations and there’s nothing I can do about it. I blame you for ruining my day.

All in all, I’m quite happy I didn’t pay any money to go to this. Thanks work.

3 Responses to “Virgin Music Festival, Vancouver–The good, the bad and the ugly.”

  1. Jared said

    Yeah the lineup didn’t seem too promising. Glad Ill Scarlett didnt dissapoint, i although wouldnt have minded seeing MSTRKRFT live, just to say i did.

  2. jenn said

    don’t be such a negative nelly! i had loads of fun. it’s v fest, clearly wasn’t expecting the best thing ever, but it was a good for what it was and was a good laugh over all. i’m actually ok with davey’s semi gender confusion. he still is pretty hot regardless. and i actually prefer the new stuff to the old. to each their own anyway.

  3. ittakesonetoknowone said

    Negative Nelly? It’s not like a dissed everything. I mean there WAS beer there, albeit $6 a glass. And some of the bands were palatable.

Leave a Reply

